Canada: what a race! JB: what a drive!

Typing still a bit hard on the shoulder so I’m just going to lift a long comment I posted on this thread on F1Fanatic.co.uk:. I’m also including a very good response, which I was really pleased to get – it’s bloody rare to get a response on page 9 of any comment thread!! – and my counter-response. Did any of you people watch the end of the race?

lynnduffy says:
June 13, 2011 at 12:23 am

Late to the comment-fest but just have to say I’m in a Spinal Tap mood… can I vote 11?

Yes, huge red flag stop, DRS badly implemented, ridiculous # of laps behind SC on resume but still – a thriller like that lives in the mind for years. Last time I got so involved with the last laps of a GP was Brazil 2008 and that was only because there was a title at stake.

Truly a majestic drive through the field by Button – puts him up with the greats. Now if only he could do it more consistently – his lack of consistency is why I don’t put him in the absolute top tier of drivers. But on his day… Wow. Mind you, McLaren thought they had their Quali issues sorted, but back to the drawing board there.

And a definite honourable mention for Schumi. This was the first time in his comeback that I felt he showed some real, raw speed. When Vettel spun (and I’ve nothing against him) I was really hoping Webber and Schumi would get past before he regained the track… An MS podium would have been as emotional as JB’s win. However, all due credit to Seb – he recovered from the spin amazingly quickly.

There are many points that can legitimately be debated and criticised about the race, but for sheer, heart-thumping excitement this was a race for the ages. I’m a long-time fan, and I can see the purist point of view, but I can’t resist a fairy-tale ending once in a while.

And how funny was it when JB, his girlfriend and half the McLaren team were pointing “Vettel Fingers” at the cameras?

I turned off the TV feeling thrilled and elated, to the extent of sharing my excitement and the story of the race with my family despite their total lack of interest in my sport. For me that feeling is what makes this race one that will be mentioned with the greatest thrillers of F1 history.

panache says:
June 13, 2011 at 8:36 am

I feel that this post deserves a response from at least one person.

Personally I think Button is the most consistent driver in the entire field and it’s one of his key strengths.

I understand what you’re getting at though – if only he could have days like yesterday consistently then he’d easily be considered part of the elite alongside the likes of Alonso and Hamilton.

I’ve considered Button part of the absolute top tier of drivers in race trim for a long time, he just needs to find those couple extra tenths in qualifying on a more regular basis in my opinion, or be in a car that is head of the field on ultimate pace. In years previous to 2009 his ability was masked by woefully uncompetitive machinery.

Some races and situations he is way too passive – the opposite of Hamilton – but typically this season to date he’s been quite bullish and in the thick of the action with extremely strong race pace.

On Schumacher: I came to loathe the guy during his time at Ferrari dominating the sport but since his comeback I’ve been desperate to see him get a podium or win. He so nearly made it in Montreal and would have if not for DRS. I agree that it would have been as emotional as Jenson’s win.

On a final note, your final comment pretty much perfectly sums up the situation at my house and my own feelings after the BBC coverage ended.

Reply
lynnduffy says:
June 13, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Thanks for the nod 🙂 And I agree about JB’s increased edge this year – if he was able to bring those last couple of tenths to qualifying, he’d be much closer to an equal rating with Lewis in my book. Er, I mean Lewis over the last 4.5 years, not the last three weeks. 🙂

Last thought – you’ve got to give credit to McLaren for sticking to and implementing their “we let our drivers race” mentality.

~ by Lynn Duffy on June 13, 2011.

Leave a comment