links for 2010-05-14

  • "The notion that the government can, in effect, execute one of its own citizens far from a combat zone, with no judicial process and based on secret intelligence, makes some legal authorities deeply uneasy. " Gosh, does it? But only because he's a US citizen, and therefore a real person with rights…. Argh. It blows the mind
  • "With so few local job prospects and most of her possessions of value already liquidated she has considered selling her blood to help pay for the move. But she says she cannot find a market for that, either; blood collection agencies, she said, told her they do not buy her blood type.

    “Sometimes I think I’d be better off in jail,” she says, only half joking. “I’d have three meals a day and structure in my life. I’d be able to go to school. I’d have more opportunities if I were an inmate than I do here trying to be a contributing member of society.” " Some people have it so tough… we have a lot to be thankful for.

~ by Lynn Duffy on May 14, 2010.

2 Responses to “links for 2010-05-14”

  1. Hi. How are you? hope the 21st goes well today.
    gerard and i are going to 1st communion in Westport today. We have had workmen here all week doing the “building site” by the lower patio,so been feeding them endless cups of tea and sandwiches. It is looking good now but will have to wait for a couple of weeks to plant it. Talk to you soon. Love R

  2. Hi Ros! I hope so too… have just hoovered and washed all the floors and am trying to show Dad how to use the new Digital video camera!! Lots and lots of food – we’ll been eating leftovers for a week I bet.

    I’m still suffering badly with cramps, but I did get SOME sleep last night – an improvement on Zero hours the night before! Hoping it will ease soon though.

    By the way can you reply to my email about those draft calendars? Were they adequate? Cheers L x

Leave a Reply

 
